Archives duo recording: “Anima”, with Matt Otto

Here’s a recording from 2011 that I never got around to posting about… A set of mostly spontaneous contrafact duets with my long time friend and cherished musician, Matt Otto. We had an empty church to ourselves for the day in Kansas City, along with a big Steinway, and the superb engineering expertise of Mr. Chad Meese.

New trio recording : Wayfare

Wayfare cover

1.Mitnick 2.Spinning 3.On the Wing 4.Port Costa 5.Socotra 6.Ground Control 7.Parasang 8.Hoedown 9.Black Sands

Leonard Thompson – piano,compositions
Ryan McGillicuddy – bass
Mark Ferber – drums

Recorded by Steve Wood at Benaji Studios, Laguna Beach CA on January 2nd & 3rd, 2012
Mixed by Matt Otto at JCR Records, Kansas City MO in 2012 & 2013
Mastered by A.T. Michael MacDonald at AlgoRhythms, Brooklyn NY on April 3rd, 2013

Cover Art:
“Arroyo Seco” by Roger Kuntz, 1961
Photo by George Post
Used with permission from the Estate of Roger Kuntz, via Mary Kuntz-Coté

Available on iTunes, Rhapsody, CDBaby, and other digital music sites.


Polymetric Ostinato Exercise for Piano No.7 (a-d)

Click the triangle to hear Exercise 7d: Polymetric Ostinato For Piano No. 7a


Click the triangle to hear Exercise 7a:

Polymetric Ostinato For Piano No. 7a

Click the triangle to hear Exercise 7b:

Polymetric Ostinato For Piano No. 7b

Click the triangle to hear Exercise 7c:

Polymetric Ostinato For Piano No. 7c

Linear Vocabulary: Trying to break old habits

In an effort to broaden my linear vocabulary, I devised an exercise that would force me to choose a different scale degree each time I landed on a particular chord. Here, I used the first part of John Coltrane’s “Countdown” and arbitrarily chose the F7 chord in the first bar as the parameter. In other words, the object was to construct seven different lines, the only restriction being that I use a different scale degree on the downbeat of the F7 chord in each of the seven lines.
Push play to listen:
click here for the pdf


Neapolitan Major

A few years ago I cut out 12 felt squares, one for each degree of the chromatic scale, in hopes of letting chance help me to discover some new sounds.
One day I closed my eyes and picked out a group of seven notes which I subsequently learned are referred to by some as the Neapolitan Major mode. I played around with it a little, ran it through Mick Goodrick’s ‘Cycle 2’, and picked some different pedals to go underneath it.
Click here for the pdf
Push play to listen: